North-Western Basin Branch News

Compulsory Regulations in Vyborg Seaport

The Compulsory Regulations in Vyborg Seaport approved by the Ministry of Transport of Russia dated 13.12.2012 № 432, came into effect on 26 April 2013.

The Compulsory Regulations in Vyborg Seaport stipulate:
- rules for call and exit of vessels, and rules of vessel navigation in Vyborg Seaport, including rules of ice navigation; 
- rules for navigation of vessels in the coverage area of Vysotsk Seaport VTS, which covers the Vyborg Seaport water area, and also the description of its boundaries;
- rules for mooring of vessels in the seaport with the indication of their berths;
- rules for provision of environmental safety and quarantine in the seaport;
- rules for the usage of special means of communication in the territory and water area of the seaport.

Also the Compulsory Regulations contain information about:
- compulsory pilotage area;
- description of fairways and canals of the seaport;
- boundaries of the A1 andd A2 sea areas of the Global Marine Distress and Safety System;
- transmission of navigation and weather information to shipmasters of vessels staying in Vyborg Seaport, and also information on the threat of illegal intrusion in the seaport,
and other information on the description of the Vyborg Seaport, and its technical capacities regarding reception and working of vessels.

In comparison with the previous Compulsory Regulations on the Trade Seaports of Vyborg and Vysotsk approved by FSE "AMP Vyborg and Vysotsk" in 2004 (as amended and supplemented), the new Compulsory Regulations in Vyborg Seaport stipulate rules for provision of safety of the merchant shipping in Vyborg Seaport, which are compulsory for all vessels regardless of their nationality or departmental affiliation, and also for physical and legal entities regardless of their legal organization form and ownership form. The new edition complies to the unified requirements to the structure and contents of compulsory regulations in the seaports of the Russian Federation approved by the Ministry of Transport of Russia.