Astrakhan Branch News

Nomenclature of cargoes allowed to arrive and leave through Russian border checkpoints in the seaports of Olya and Astrakhan expanded

Under Russia’s Government Resolution No 1438 of November 28, 2017, Russian border checkpoints in the seaports of Astrkhan and Olya have been included in the list of checkpoints where nuclear materials and items containing them are allowed to arrive in and leave the Russian Federation.

The comprehensive list of Russian border checkpoints includes 29 offshore posts to cross the Russian border where the arrival and departure of such items are allowed.

In order to ensure navigation safety of vessels transporting the above-said materials and items and calling at the seaports of Astrakhan and Olya the Astrakhan Branch renders comprehensive navigation services with the use of VTMS of Astrakhan and Olya, performs icebreaker escort of vessels, pilotage of vessels, controls navigational depths on the Volga-Caspian Marine Shipping Channel and in the water areas of the seaports and maintain operability of aids to navigation.

More information on the terms and conditions for rendering services in the seaports of Astrakhan and Olya by the Astrakhan Branch can be found in the Section “The Astrakhan Branch Services”.